mamalizmas:

churchyardgrim:

girlfriendluvr:

captaincrunchcosplay:

akron-squirrel:

The trend with fandoms nowadays seems to be:

– Praise the living daylights out of a show and shove its greatness in everyone’s face

– 2 years later, pick it apart violently and insult everyone who still enjoys it in as edgy a way as possible because negativity is cool

!!!

uhh maybe marginalized ppl were excited at the possibility of a show (such as su) representing them, only to be rightfully angry when the show ends up racist, homophobic etc. anyway, super bad post all around

I feel like a lot of hardcore accusations of problematic and offensive content that get thrown at media that was previously lauded as progressive come from a few sources; first, the creators are often a lot more accessible than the creators of mainstream media. you can message rebecca sugar on twitter personally to call her a racist bitch, but you can’t do the same to, say, jj abrhams or another large-scale creator. likewise, you can’t stand on a streetcorner and scream at people until they agree to stop watching law and order, but you can certainly bully large groups of people online until they stop supporting an independent creator.

second, the fandoms that tend to form around progressive media tend to be younger, more volatile, looking to media and fandom as forms of activism. mainstream media they can write off as garbage, but progressive niche media that makes a sincere attempt to represent marginalized folks must be Absolutely Perfect. the idea that a piece of media can have good parts and bad parts, that it can try and only partially succeed, but that that partial success is still worth something, is completely lost on many young fans. either its irredeemable garbage or its the literal messiah, there’s no in-between. so if a show falls short of perfect, as is inevitable, then it goes straight into the “total garbage” pile and must be condemned by the masses.

genuinely trying to represent certain groups and making a few missteps is not the same thing as being ignorant or malicious. making a sincere effort to mean something to folks who don’t get a lot of things made for them is something to be proud of. would you rather go back to the times when fucking nothing got made for us? when the only characters we saw that we could relate to were only there to be made fun of? you’re spoiled by a rush of new creators who took “go make your own thing then” to heart and set out to make content for people like them, you have the gall to look at what they’re trying to do and spit on it for not being better. no creator owes you shit, no creator has to bow to a bunch of teenage bullies who do nothing but demand and harass, that’s all there is to it.

Dear lord can everyone please read this post because it’s so relevant

danieljgrouse:

geekandmisandry:

melonmemes:

No please

People commenting like we don’t know that Bluetooth headsets exist and like we cling to outdated tech. No, but until that tech is better and more affordable then I’m not interested in being the guinea pig.

To replace a headset if you lose it is much more expensive, and Bluetooth is sill a huge battery suck which means we’ll get less out of our phones.

There are also many, many cars that don’t support Bluetooth but instead have a jack.

People aren’t upset because of silliness or knowing less about tech than you. They have their own legitimate reasons.

As someone who has a bluetooth headset and loves it, I hate the move away from 3,5 jacks on devices.

The sound over wireless is pretty good these days and the battery drain while noticeable isn’t as tragic either, but the removal of the jack is still a money grabbing anti-consumer move.

Apple might make fun of the connector for not having evolved for so long but that’s because it does exactly what we need. Nobody thinks that electrical outlets are bad for not getting an upgrade every five years, that would be silly and make everyone’s lives difficult. This is the same case.

The jack is an universal standard, doesn’t matter if you have cheap earbuds or and expensive set of studio monitors they still use the same connector, you can plug them to your phone, laptop, the plane’s on board entertainment system or your super expensive audiophile set up.

Getting rid of the jack does several things. It drives the cost of the device down. The manufacturer no longer has to include a DAC or an amp. While you pay the same money for your phone, you now have to pay extra for headphones that already have that stuff built in.

It’s also no wonder this has been started by Apple who now owns Beats. The thing about wireless headphones is they need batteries. And batteries only live for so long. And are not replaceable. Yay for being forced to buy new headphones every couple years even if the old set is perfectly fine other than not holding a charge.

I love wireless headphones, not having to deal with cords is great. Being able to do chores around the house listening to music without having to carry your phone is awesome. But people being angry about the demise of the jack without a proper real replacement (not that we needed one in the first place) are not some philistines or luddites. They just see the obviously anti-consumer move designed to screw them over and take more money out of their pockets and are not ready to cheer for that as some sort of a technological win.